And LIFE GOES ON !!

 LIFE GOES ON !!

As we grow up, and older, and

We let our childhood fly

We have our dreams, and plans – we have our wishes piled up high.

We give a lot of thought for what tomorrow’s going to bring —

“I’ll be a doctor.”  “I’ll be rich.”

“And me?  I’ll be your King!”

We leave the playground, add some years,

Make new friends all around –

The FUTURE waits ahead and possibilities abound !

We spend our high school days, and then our college years as well,

In trying to determine things

That only Time will tell.

I didn’t understand it then

And, somehow, still don’t know

How time can often pass on by with nothing left to show.

I tried, and still try, very hard to do some good each day,

But all too often I have let

The chances slip away.

****************************************

My baby sister had a baby

Several years ago.

Just “several”?  More like twenty-five, and we have watched her grow

From little girl to college kid – then on to be a wife

Who, with her husband, started making

Plans to make their life.

And now my baby sister’s baby

Has a baby, too –

And some of my own kids have joined the game and had a few.

When did this happen?  How did all these little ones get grown

And go to school and marry and

Have children of their own?

****************************************

How did I get to be the age

My Grandpa used to be?

The man was ancient – OLD, I tell you — that was plain to see !!

What hair he had was gone to grey – his back, once straight, was bent.

And he could look back on a life

He prayed had been well-spent.

My mirror tells a story I find

Too hard to believe.

My mind tells me I’m thirty-five, with aces up my sleeve,

And all the time I’ll need to give the world my very best —

Then looking at that looking-glass

Will put those thoughts to rest.

****************************************

God has His own concept of Time –

It’s not the same as mine.

I think I’ll have forever ‘til I reach the finish line.

But, no – He’ll tell me when I’m done, and when I’ll take my rest –

So until then I’ll give my all

And  give the world my best.

***

gordon

************************************************************************

I would rather be ashes than dust!

I would rather that my spark

should burn out in a brilliant blaze

than it should be stifled by dry-rot.

I would rather be a superb meteor,

every atom of me in magnificent glow,

than a sleepy and permanent planet.

The function of man is to live,

not to exist.

I shall not waste my days trying to prolong them.
I shall use my time.

*****

Jack London

 *****************************************************

2 comments on “And LIFE GOES ON !!

  1. Chris W. says:

    Gordon, if I could stop crying, I’d try to write something profound. You truly hit the nail on the head about how I’m feeling and that dear precious baby girl who now has her own precious baby girl.

  2. Darla says:

    Have I told you lately how talented you are, and how much I love you? This, methinks, is the best yet. True life, big brother. True life.

Leave a comment